Qur'an: Surahs (Chapters)

A Surah (سورة‎‎) is the term for a chapter of the Qur'an. There are 114 Surahs in the Qur'an, each divided into verses. The chapters or suras are of unequal length, the shortest chapter (Al-Kawthar) has only three ayat (verses) while the longest (Al-Baqara) contains 286 verses. Of the 114 chapters in the Qur'an, 87 are classified as Meccan, while 27 are Medinan. Except for sura At-Tawba, all chapters or suras commence with 'In the Name of God, the Merciful, the Compassionate'. The chapters are arranged roughly in order of descending size; therefore the arrangement of the Qur'an is neither chronological nor thematic.

User Settings

Topic Activity
  • 22

    Topic Questions

  • 3k

    Total Questions

21 Answered and 1Unanswered.

Top Writers in this topic
2.7k Points   5.0
680.0 Points   5.0


470.0 Points   1.0
400.0 Points   5.0


370.0 Points   1.0
100.0 Points   5.0
100.0 Points   277.0


20.0 Points   272.0
  1. 1

What we provide!

Vote Content

Great answers start with great insights. Content becomes intriguing when it is voted up or down - ensuring the best answers are always at the top.

Multiple Perspectives

Questions are answered by people with a deep interest in the subject. People from around the world review questions, post answers and add comments.

An authoritative community

Be part of and influence the most important global discussion that is defining our generation and generations to come

Join Now !

Update chat message


Delete chat message

Are you sure you want to delete this message?